Chapman County Codes: Scotland



The two following tables provide basic information about the major administrative regions of Scotland. There are different systems of administration in the UK, and the administrative units bear different names: county, region, and district. In addition, large-scale reorganisations of local authorities occurred in the early and mid 1970s, resulting in new counties, the "disappearance" of old counties, adjustments to county boundaries, and so on. For many family history purposes, it is the "old" administrative regions which are relevant. However, a knowledge of the present arrangements is also needed, so that the records you need can be found.

Also, these are administrative regions, whereas for many purposes the old counties continue to have an existence, at least in the minds of people who disagreed with the changes.

The tables include the following information:

Following legislation passed in 1972, and the report of the Local Government Boundaries Commission, new county names and boundaries came into effect in Scotland from May 1975.

Table 1: Counties (before May 1975)

County CCC
Aberdeenshire ABD
Angus 1 ANS
Argyllshire 2 ARL
Ayrshire AYR
Banffshire BAN
Berwickshire BEW
Bute 3 BUT
Caithness CAI
Clackmannanshire CLK
Dunbartonshire DNB
Dumfries-shire DFS
East Lothian ELN
Fife FIF
Inverness-shire 4 INV
Kincardineshire KCD
Kinross-shire KRS
Kirkcudbrightshire KKD
Lanarkshire LKS
Midlothian MLN
Morayshire MOR
Nairn NAI
Orkney 5 OKI
Peebles-shire PEE
Perth PER
Renfrewshire RFW
Ross and Cromarty 6 ROC
Roxburghshire ROX
Selkirkshire SEL
Shetland 7 SHI
Stirlingshire STI
Sutherland SUT
West Lothian WLN
Wigtownshire WIG

Table 2: Regions (after May 1975)

Region CCC Administrative Centre
Borders BOR Newton St. Boswells
Central CEN Stirling
Dumfries and Galloway DGY Dumfries
Fife FIF Glenrothes
Grampian GMP Aberdeen
Highland 8 HLD Inverness
Lothian LTN Edinburgh
Orkney OKI Kirkwall
Shetland 7 SHI Lerwick
Strathclyde 9 STD Glasgow
Tayside TAY Dundee
Western Isles 10 WIS Stornoway


  1. An old name for Angus is "Forfarshire"
  2. Includes islands: Islay, Jura and Mull.
  3. Consists of islands Arran and Bute.
  4. Includes islands: Lewis (part), North Uist, South Uist, and Skye.
  5. Also "Orkney Isles", or "Orkney Islands", but not "The Orkneys".
  6. Includes part of the island of Lewis.
  7. Also "Shetland Isles", or "Shetland Islands", but not "The Shetlands". Originally known as "Zetland".
  8. Includes the island of Skye.
  9. Includes islands: Arran, Bute, Islay, Jura and Mull.
  10. Includes islands: Lewis, North Uist and South Uist.